Quinoa Zucchini and Corn Fritters

Maybe it’s the  pollution, or the random insomnia, or the fact that I was at work from 7:30 (on a Monday morning, no less) to almost 7:00, but I woke up with a raging migraine and absolutely no ability to be a real person and put pants on and go to the office. I called in and answered emails from bed as long as I could stand the glare, then napped with a damp compress over my eyes. Eventually I did have to get out of bed and pretend to be functional. What with semi-restructuring, new bosses, new programs and picking up responsibilities of maternity-leaving-coworkers, I can’t even really relax on a sick day. But after being productive for a little while I decided to make myself a nice lunch.

I had a bowl of quinoa I made on Friday that needed to be used up, but I didn’t really feel like a grain salad. A quick perusal on Tastespotting gave me a few ideas. I had zucchini and half an onion needing to be used up in the fridge, and a can of corn in my pantry (can I call it a pantry if it’s just a bookshelf in the middle of my living room?)

I chopped up the half onion along with one large clove of garlic. Washed, peeled, and grated the zucchini, then squeezed the water out of the shreds. Sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil until translucent, then added in the grated zucchini. After about two minutes, I removed from heat and let cool. Then, I added about 3/4 of a can of drained sweet corn kernels abut 1 1/2 cups of cooked quinoa, salt and pepper. Stirred, then added in one lightly beaten egg and 3-4 Tbs of flour and mix this thoroughly

Heat oven to 200C. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. I used a small, round cookie cutter to make uniform sized patties: place the cookie cutter on the parchment, spoon the fritter batter into, smooth it out to about 1/2 inch thickness, then slowly lift the cookie cutter up. Repeat until baking sheet is filled up–they don’t spread out at all, so they can be placed quite close to each other. Pop into the oven for 15 minutes, flip over, and bake for another 15. They should just be golden and crispy. You could also fry in oil, they get much crispier and are very tasty that way, but baking is healthier, you can make a whole big batch with less work, and the little circle fritters are quite cute to serve.

A cup of sugar snap peas, a little jar of Sriracha aioli, and a tall glass of lemon sweet tea…it’s almost enough to make me feel human again.

Zucchini Corn and Quinoa Fritters served with sugar snap peas, Sriracha aioli and lemon iced tea.

Zucchini Corn and Quinoa Fritters served with sugar snap peas, Sriracha aioli and lemon iced tea.

Leave a Reply

