Funfetti Cake

First things first, reassuring news from home, things are looking positive for my cousin. I’ve been informed that some of few things he has said have been, of course, belligerent and grumpy. I expect no less from the family which produced several cranky robots, and indeed, am encouraged by the masshole indications, because if nothing else, sheer stubbornness will pull him through this.

Secondly, I’m getting increasingly frustrated with my leaking, non-working fridge, that won’t be replaced until Saturday because manufacturers won’t deliver after 5. And it seems like there’s no end to the little things going wrong this week. The steamer that spit water all over the dress I was trying to un-wrinkle AND my hand (hot damn that shit hurt), the electricity that decided to go out with a bang, and the fusebox that refused to make it turn on again, and latest, the oven rack that, when pulled out just a few inches, decides that it wants to be free, slides out all the way and slants downwards, launching a heavy, burning hot Pyrex baking dish filled with molten hot potatoes, vegetables, and oil to the ground, where it all shatters. Nothing like being unable to salvage your dinner from glass shards and trying to mop up the oily puddle of sharpness and pain and having to wait at least ten minutes for the bigger shards to be even cool enough to handle.

My answer to all of this is dessert. All of the dessert. I decided to make a cake tonight, because cake is the solution to all my problems. Bad day? Cake. Stomach ache? Cake. Hungry? Cake. Shitty boy drama? Cake.  I mean, sure, sometimes you gotta mix it up with pie or cookies or custard or a rack of lamb or entire loaf of bread with a wedge of cheese, but, mostly, the answer is cake.

A colleague had requested a funfetti cake a while ago and I actually went and found a box mix, but never ended up making it. So I figured, why not compare, half box mix half entirely homemade? Funfetti cake it is! Also, I haven’t had funfetti cake in ages, so this was a little blast from the past.

For the homemade cake, I whipped up a basic vanilla cake. And I made a basic vanilla buttercream frosting for both.

1 cup milk, 4 large egg whites, 1 whole egg, 1 Tbs vanilla, 2 3/4 cup flour (1 tsp of corn starch per cup sifted into the all purpose flour to make it cake flour), 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 Tbs baking powder, 3/4 tsp salt, 12 Tbs room temp butter, and 1/2 cup of rainbow sprinkles.

The frosting needs: 1 1/2 cups soft butter, 3 1/2 cups powder sugar, 3 Tbs milk, 1 Tbs vanilla, a pinch of salt, and of course, more sprinkles.

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease and flour a cake pan (or cupcake liners, if you want to make individual portions)
Mix the eggs, milk and vanilla
Combine the dry ingredients.
Add butter, cubed, and blend, slowly adding the wet mixture.
Gently stir in the sprinkles.
Bake 25-30 minutes, then let cool on a rack.

Whip the frosting butter for about five minutes until its light and creamy. Add in the milk and sugar and vanilla. Frost the cake/cupcakes, then garnish with sprinkles or what have you. I tried to draw parts of Boston skyline in frosting, but it looked way better on paper in black and white than it does on the cake.
Boston Strong Funfetti Cake. Baking is the outlet for all these feels!

Boston Strong Funfetti Cake. Baking is my only outlet for all these feels! Well, baking and whiskey. 

The homemade cake turned out much larger than the boxed mix. I had to trim them to stack. Also, it was getting on midnight by the time I started the frosting–that’s what happen when you try to clean, bake a cake, and do arts-and-crafty-shit around the house all in one evening. So, completely exhausted I didn’t wait long enough to frost the cake, the bottom was still sort of warm, and the whole thing looked pretty haphazard, but it was a colorful and super sweet treat that my American colleagues loved. My Chinese colleagues oohed over the icing Boston skyline  and asked if I put a whole bag of sugar in the cake. They tend to really like the subtle-sweet banana breads and such that I’ve brought in, but still the cake disappeared in 15 minutes!
Leave a Reply

