Farro Salad

So let’s see. I haven’t done anything of note in a while, just pretty much drowned in work. This whole being an adult and gainfully employed robot is really overrated. I have sort of been attempting to eat more healthy things sort of, well I mean, I plan all these beautiful, well balanced meals and then I go home and eat a loaf of bread with butter, a half a pak of Tim Tams and make some pies, so not really that healthy. But I did discover this really good grain salad that I’ve made several times now and still haven’t gotten tired of it.

Over Christmas one of my aunts served up farro as a side dish, which I had never eaten before, and really enjoyed. I bought a small bag at Trader Joe’s and brought it back with me, and waited until I found a good recipe to try it on. This, this recipe I would recommend for everyone. It’s delicious. It would also work with brown rice, barley, probably quinoa, pretty much any sort of grain. It took me a while to find frozen edamame (soy beans, oddly enough, considering how much soy product is used in this country) but I finally found a giant bag in the freezer section at a Metro (similar to Carrefour) after a month of searching.

* Half a cup of dry farro, brought to a boil with one cup of stock/water, simmered for ten minutes then drained.
* 1 small green apple, diced
* 3/4 cup edamame seeds, defrosted in the microwave
*dried cranberries
*1/4 cup chopped almonds.

Dressing: I mixed a spoonful of miso paste, a spoonful of smooth peanut butter, honey,  minced ginger, a few drops of sesame oil, canola oil, balsamic vinegar, and a little bit of maggi seasoning together. Toss all the salad ingredients together, sprinkle with a few toasted sesame seeds.

Farro Salad

Farro Salad

As an extra little something, I cubed tofu, marinated it in a version of the dressing with soy sauce and rice wine added, fried it, and then added the marinade with some water, which thickened very quickly into a sauce, and tossed this into the salad as well. For dinner I eat this slightly warm, and the next day chilled for lunch, and it is delicious both days. I can see it being a really good summer lunch, light and cold but filling and healthy. And, it all comes together in pretty much as much time as it takes to cut things up and cook tofu, so its a great meal to throw together after a long Monday.

Leave a Reply

