Bacon Jam

Bacon. Jam.
Bacon Jam.
Jam made out of bacon.
I’m…going to have a crisis.

Anyway, after a slow start I made it out to Sanyuanli yesterday and bought all sorts of edible things. I spent a few minutes to prepare for the week, putting chicken breasts and legs into ziploc bags individually with different marinades.

My regular go to chicken marinade is soy sauce, honey, cooking wine, a little minced ginger, oyster sauce. I also made a Middle Eastern cumin-honey marinade with lemon juice, water, cumin, coriander, turmeric, honey and a dash of soy; a Mediterranean marinade of lemon juice, olive oil, and herbs; and hot and sour with lemon juice, a dash of vinegar, honey, sugar, soy sauce, minced ginger and Sriracha. Those are all tucked into the freezer for easy thawing and cooking over what I can only assume will be a busy week. I also made a giant batch of bolognese sauce, most of it to be frozen for rainy-I-can’t-be-bothered-to-cook days.

Then I got started on the bacon jam, a recipe I found on pinterest and needed in my mouth immediately. Nom.

1/2 Lb bacon
1/2 onion
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 cloves garlic
1/4 brewed coffee
3 Tbs cider vinegar (or white vinegar and a dash of apple and lemon juice)
A generous splash of bourbon.

Bacon


Cook bacon until just crispy. Set aside to cool, and chop into 1 inch pieces.
Pour off most of the bacon grease, then soften the chopped onion and garlic until the onion is translucent.
Ad vinegar, sugar, coffee and bourbon. Bring this to a boil and then add the bacon. Lower the heat and let this simmer for an hour and a half. Stir frequently, and if you’re dealing with a Chinese gas stove, turn the heat off every once and a while because even the lowest setting makes it boil.

Letting it all cook down


Transfer this all to a food processor and blend it up. Store in the fridge.

bacon jam


I tried some and it was delicious. A little on the salty side, since I used my super-salty homemade bacon, but I think it will go really well with a creamy Brie on crusty bread. Maybe with some more caramelized onions.

Leave a Reply

