Victoria Sponge Cake

As part of the cake baking practice, I made this Victoria Sponge cake, and brought it to a friend’s birthday potluck at Great Leap Brewery. It disappeared quickly, so I think it’s a hit. The only problem is that the sponge cake may not be very stackable.

My original plan was to make two cakes, one to bring to birthday dinner and one to bring to work, but obviously, because nothing ever goes according to plan, that didn’t happen. I was expecting the cake to rise up much more than it did, perhaps because I used a square baking pan instead of a round cake dish, the cake remained thin and flat, too short for me to even think about slicing it horizontally in half to spread with jam. It would have been a disaster. So I merely stacked the two finished cakes on top of each other, and decided that the office can suffer a week without baked goods. Those people are seriosuly spoiled. Not only did my predecessor bring in cupcakes on a weekly basis, but the day after I brought in the kumquat cakes, people were nosing around my desk asking if I had brought in anything else (I really hope he was joking…daily baked goods are a pipe-dream, mister!).

Bake to the sponge cake. So, start out by letting your butter soften.
1 cup butter
1 cup powdered sugar
1 cup flour.
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk

Cream together the softened butter and confectionary sugar. Then beat in the eggs one by one. Sift flour and baking powder together, and then gradually mix that into the butter. Lastly, stir in the milk and vanilla. Then, pour the batter into a 8″ round cake tin and bake at 200C for 20 minutes. I lined the baking dish with oiled tin foil for easy removal and cleaning. After allowing it to cool, if your cake is tall enough, carefully cut it in half and fill with jam, custard, whipped cream, fresh fruit, or whatever your heart desires. I used the black cherry preserves I had on hand.

Golden fluffy Victoria Sponge Cake with raspberry jam


I left it unfrosted, which was perfectly delicious, although for the wedding I will be experimenting with buttercream frostings.

Last week, I made the dark chocolate cake that I wrote about a few months ago. This time, I ran out of normal sugar and substituted half of it with powdered sugar, but otherwise followed the same process. I think the powdered sugar may have actually been a bag of crack? Because seriously, people would not stop eating it! I left it on the table in front of my desk, and coworkers kept coming back for more…my boss ended up just eating cake for lunch! I think I’ll definitely be making this for one of the cakes at the wedding, and I might experiment with a hazelnut cream filling.

I also tried to make a genoise, but something went horribly wrong and it came out as dense as a brick and quite dry. My second attempt to be chronicled this weekend.

Leave a Reply

