Sweet Potato Pork Hash, Buffalo Wings

Those pork buns were delicious and all, but after the second or third one I began to realize that I am no longer the indestructible eating robot I once was, and that, wow, pork belly is REALLY fatty. The buns were very rich and filling and neither of us could eat more than a few. But I made so much! I have a big bag of buns in the freezer that I’ll have to figure out how to use up, and way too much pork belly in the fridge.

After a little bit of thought, I trimmed off all the fat, and shredded the remaining portion of lean meat into little pieces. I cubed 2 sweet potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes and after softening a minced onion in the wok in live oil, tossed in the sweet potato. Let that cook down for about twenty minutes on medium low. Then I added about a half a cup of stock to steam and thoroughly cook the sweet potato cubes, which were taking forever to soften. Once the stock had boiled off, I added the pork belly, salt and pepper, and let it get nice and crispy.

Plated, served with sauteed spinach and a poached egg over makes an excellent brunch.

Bambi and Allie came over for movies and nibbles. I didn’t feel like making a big meal, but I went all out buying fruit for smoothies. I also threw together some buffalo wings and sweet potato fries for movie snacking.

Buffalo wings are something that I always crave but never think of as something to make at home. Turns out they’re remarkably simple. I was going to make them according to Alton Brown’s recipe of first steaming and then baking, but that requires at least an hour in the fridge for the steamed wings to dry off, so I deep fried them instead.

Brought a wok-ful of sunflower seed oil up to heat, then in batches of four-five at a time, slid the rised and patted completely dry wings into the oil, where they bubbled up. After five to seven minutes, I used tongs to flip them over, and three-five minutes after that, strained them out into a baking dish kept in the oven at 200F to stay warm. Once all the wings were fried and crispy, I melted about 4 Tbs. of butter with Frank’s Red Hot sauce (found in April Gourmet’s) two minced cloves of garlic, and a dash of honey. Next time I might try Sriracha and honey, if I can find it. Tossed the wings in the sauce and served with celery and blue cheese.

Buffalo Chicken Wings


The sweet potato fries were really easy except they stuck to the tin foil on the baking sheet and tore. I sliced one sweet potato into sticks, tossed with olive oil, honey, cinnamon, salt and pepper and a light dash of chili, laid them out on a baking sheet and baked at 450F for 20 minutes, turning over halfway through. Next time, will have to make sure to thoroughly oil the tin foil to prevent stickiness (maybe add less honey/sugar to prevent caramelizing?) and experiment with different seasonings.

Leave a Reply

