Beef and Barley Soup

In keeping with my soup kick, I next made Beef and Barley soup.
After the early morning flood disaster, I made it through my class, and then took a trip to Sanyuanli. I was so tired took a nap at 4, but I ended up waking up at 11. So much for fixing my jetlag. I decided to at least try and be productive. First I made a big pot of stock, since I had to settle for using chicken bouillon cubes when I made the chicken and black bean soup. After that was done, I started on a hearty and healthy beef and barley soup.

Ingredients: Three large shallots, minced. One carrot, diced. One large rib of celery, diced. 3 cloves of garlic, crushed. ¾ cup of pearl barley. 1 pound of beef in ½ inch cubes. Vegetable oil, salt, pepper, a few sprigs of rosemary, 5 cups of stock and 1 cup water.

Ingredients for Beef and Barley Soup


Everything all chopped up


Heat the oil in a soup pot on high, add the cubes of meat with salt and pepper (mine had been marinating in a little bit of soy sauce for 20 minutes) and brown, then remove from the pan and set aside. Add a little more oil into the pot, then add the shallot, celery and carrot. Let the vegetables soften briefly, throw in a few bay leaves. Then I added in the barley, letting the kernels (grains? Bits?) toast for half a minute before ladling in stock. Stir in the meat and broth and water, bring to a boil, then allow to simmer for about an hour, when the barley is nice and edible-soft.
This was delicious. I ate a bowl at 4 in the morning then went back to sleep for a few more hours.

Delicious Soup!

Leave a Reply

