Stovetop Lasagna

My god. Not only do I listen to the boys always talking about Frisbee in my waking hours, but I’ve started to have nightmares that are just me trapped in eternity listening to them discuss strategy. I woke up absolutely irritated.

In an attempt to use up everything in my fridge before I leave tomorrow for my mini vacation, I made lasagna today after class. I’ve made lasagna before to varying degrees of great success, usually layering zucchini and sliced Italian sausage. Well, sausages and ovens happen to be a rather scarce commodity, but luckily I found an intriguing looking recipe for stove top vegetable lasagna, and a box of small lasagna sheets left from Bambi’s old roommate (really, we owe him a lot, we inherited such a vast quantity of useful things when he returned stateside).

The box was entirely in Italian, so I wasn’t sure if it was the kind of lasagna that doesn’t need to be pre-cooked, so I half cooked it just in case.
Peeled a carrot and zucchini, and then, using the vegetable peeler, cut them into thin ribbons and set them aside. Quickly blanched a large bunch of spinach and set aside. Minced two tomatoes along with a can of stewed tomatoes (the recipe called for a pound and a half of tomatoes, which I didn’t have). Cut up 4 cloves of garlic, sauteed it in some olive oil, added in the tomatoes, with salt, pepper, basil, and a little bit of water.
While that was simmering, I mixed about a cup of ricotta with an egg, more basil, salt, pepper, and a whole bunch of freshly grated parmesan (recipe called for 2 Tbs but I am a fan of more cheese), and thinly sliced a ball of mozzarella.

Peeling Carrot and Zucchini Ribbons


I pulsed the sauce in the food processor, then put about a cup back into a pot. Lay down two sheets of lasagna down, and alternated ribbons of zucchini and carrots, drizzled olive oil and black pepper, then covered it with spinach. Slathered the ricotta mixture on top, layered some mozarella on that, and then a few table spoons of sauce. Two more sheets of lasagna, a little more sauce on the pasta, then the layers of vegetables and cheese, and repeat, for a total of three layers. The final two sheets of pasta on top, pour the remaining sauce over, and covered liberally with mozzarella. I let it simmer for about twenty minutes. I was so afraid that it would be dry and wouldn’t cook, that it actually turned out really soupy, but still tasty.

Mozzarella covering 3 layers of cheesy vegetable goodness

Leave a Reply

